DCTF Coaches of the Year
DCTF Coaches of the Year
2014-04-18 12:00:00

DCTF is proud to announce the 2013 DCTF High School Coaches of the Year.

 By TexasFootball.com


Ahead of the release of the 2014 Summer Edition of Dave Campbell's Texas Football, DCTF is proud to announce the 2013 DCTF High School Coaches of the Year.

5A: Joey McGuire, Cedar Hill
One of the most personable and charismatic coaches to roam the sidelines, McGuire is more than just a football coach -- he’s a leader. McGuire guided Cedar Hill its second state title last season in an epic rematch against previously unbeaten Katy. After falling short against the Tigers in 2012, Cedar Hill reflected McGuire’s passion and rallied for the win in the 5A Division II state championship game. In his 11 seasons at Cedar Hill, where he’s compiled a 107-35 record, this might have been his best coaching job yet. 

4A: Ricky Tullos, Richmond George Ranch
Tullos is on his way to building something truly special at Richmond George Ranch. In just the program’s second year of existence, the Longhorns surprisingly advanced to the regional finals. An old-fashioned football coach, Tullos loves keeping the ball on the ground, using misdirection to confuse opposing defenses. George Ranch racked up more than 50 rushing touchdowns and averaged more than 40 points per game. With Tullos at the helm, it’s safe to say Richmond George Ranch has the potential to become a state powerhouse.

3A: Dwayne DuBois, Hardin-Jefferson
Taking over a program that lacks a winning culture is never easy. Hardin-Jefferson hadn’t made the playoffs since 2008, and the last time it posted a winning record was way back in 2001 -- the same year the iPod was invented. So DuBois, who had no previous head coaching experience, was basically being asked to perform a miracle in his first year. And that’s exactly what he did, installing the Slot-T offense and guiding the Hawks on an improbable run to the regional semifinals. 

2A: Rick Rhoades, Cameron Yoe
Success is nothing new for Rhoades. He had it at New Braunfels, where he led the Unicorns to five straight playoff appearances, and he’s definitely had it at Cameron Yoe. In the past two seasons, the Yoemen have arguably been the most dominant 2A team in the state, capturing back-to-back state titles. After going undefeated in 2013, Cameron Yoe faced a little adversity last season, dropping a midseason game to Lago Vista. But Rhoades made sure his team kept its composure en route to another championship.

1A: Steven Cerny, Shiner
A mainstay at Shiner, Cerny has been the head coach of the program for almost three decades. In 26 years, he’s taken Shiner to three state title games. In 2013, his  Comanches lost two of their first three games and also fell to Ganado in Week 9. But once the postseason began, Cerny had Shiner playing its best football of the year, driving all the way to the 1A Division I state title game.

Six-Man: Joe Helms, Grandfalls-Royalty
Helms does it all for Grandfalls-Royalty-- one of the smallest schools in the state, with an enrollment of 28. Not only is he the head coach, but he’s also the school’s athletic director and principal. While Helms is making an impact in more areas than one, it’s as a head coach that he's really caught the state’s attention. In just his second season at Grandfalls-Royalty, he led the Cowboys to a dominating 73-28 win in the Six-man Division II state championship.

Private School: Jason Lovvorn, Dallas First Baptist
Lovvorn took over at Dallas First Baptist in 2008, at the ripe age of 23. Three years later, the former Baylor quarterback directed Dallas First Baptist to its first playoff win since 1984. But last season, Lovvorn did himself one better, leading First Baptist to an undefeated season and its first state title in the school’s 41-year history with a 35-21 victory over Bryan Brazos Christian in the TAAPS Division II state championship.

Please remember that you are responsible for the content you post on texasfootball.com. Any content containing profanity, personal attacks, antisocial behavior, or is otherwise inappropriate will be removed from our website. Users who fail to abide by these guidelines may be permanently banned. The comments/ideas shared in the Facebook commenting system do not reflect the views of Dave Campbell¹s Texas Football.

If you would like to report inappropriate behavior within the Facebook commenting system, please email subservice@texasfootball.com and we will review your request.

Subscribe to DCTF

Forgot Your Password?

Not a subscriber yet?
By registering on TexasFootball.com you'll get instant access to exclusive content and printed magazines. learn more »

Mr. Texas Football
Special Offer

What is being overheard around the state of Texas

WaterCooler Talk
Special thanks to DCTF for making the mag widely available on it’s release date...I’m a faithful reader and I already look forward to the winter edition with a recap of a stellar 2012 football sea...Broderic ,

Grab your copy of the 2015 Summer Edition of Dave Campbell's Texas Football today!

coming soon magazine cover